To view this page ensure that Adobe Flash Player version 11.1.0 or greater is installed.

WORLD NEWS 2013 GTC award winners T he Guild of Television Cameramen announced the winners of its 2013 awards during a presentation at the ‘A Day in the Country’ venue in Aynho, Oxfordshire, on Saturday 11 May.  Teradek announces pan-European distribution agreement A n agreement signed at NAB 2013 appointed Holdan as Teradek’s European distributor. Holdan will now represent Teradek and its complete portfolio of encoders, decoders, mobile transmitters and new digital management solutions. The British distributor will deliver a full service of pre-sales advice, technical support and product marketing. This year’s top award, the TiCA, went to Charles Lagus who was the BBC’s first natural history cameraman, working with Sir David Attenborough on the broadcasters initial nature series. Sir David recalls: “We simply disappeared for four to six months at a time, armed with nothing more than a couple of letters of introduction and our pockets stuffed with dollar bills. It was just the two of us; we didnt have a director until about 15 years later!” The Mike Baldock Award was presented to camera operator and 3D stereographer Holly Bantleman for her work with Raise the Roof in Kenya. The GTC Seal of Approval for an innovative piece of equipment was awarded to the Sony HDVF-EL75 studio colour viewfinder, praised for its contrast ratio of more than 1,000,000:1, efficient power consumption, wide viewing angle and extremely fast response time, meaning it is possible to focus on fast moving targets with a colour viewfinder. The day culminated with the presentation of GTC Awards for Excellence. Winners this year are: • Fred Scott for Atma Refuge Camp, Syria (BBC News), BBC1. • Graham Maunder for Cold Chain Mission, BBC2. • Nat Hill for Coldplay MX World, BBC1. • Richard Cook and Christian and Paola Moullec for Earthflight, BBC HD. • Jonathan Young for Extreme World: Karachi, BBC1. • Tony Etwell for Grand Designs: The Water Tower, Channel 4. • Dave Minchin for Great Continental Rail Journeys, Boundless for BBC2. • Marcus Elliott for Heroes of the Skies: Wingwalker, Five. • Paul Kirsop and Balazs Bolygo for Hunted, Kudos for the BBC. • Jonathan Young for Indian Ocean with Simon Reeve, BBC 2. • The whole camera team for Later with Jools, BBC2 - a special award for continuing excellence. • Nigel and Peter Meakin for Michael Palin in Brazil, BBC2. Channel-in-a- box subtitling P ixel Power, the innovative supplier of broadcast playout solutions with integrated graphics, has announced that it has formed a strategic partnership with world-leading subtitle technology specialists Screen Systems. This will bring ultimate quality subtitles to viewers screens via Pixel Powers fully integrated playout technology ChannelMaster, removing an external device and further simplifying the chain. • Fabian Wagner for Mrs Biggs (Episode 1), ITV 1. • Barrie Dodd and the whole camera team for Olympics Opening Ceremony, LOCOG for the BBC. • David Higgs for Restless, BBC1. • Marcel Zyskind for whole Crew Alastair Rae, Simon Tindall, Mark Silk, Jake Marcuson and Henry Landgrebe for Weightwatchers Commercial, Channel 4. 22 | TV-BAY MAGAZINE: ISSUE 78 JUNE 2013 TV-BAY078JUN13.indd 22 10/06/2013 15:15