To view this page ensure that Adobe Flash Player version 11.1.0 or greater is installed.

The GTC Awards were held on Sunday 22 May at A Day in the Country in Aynho, Oxfordshire. During the day, members had a chance to take part in country pursuits including clay pigeon shooting, ferret racing and dog agility, falconry and 4x4 driving. The event was sponsored by a number of industry companies including Vinten, RED, Panasonic, Presteigne Broadcast Hire, ARRI and other GTC sponsors. A live stream of the Awards ceremony was made possible by Techex, TVU Networks, Zest4TV and University of Essex. Other awards were presented to: The TiCA (Television Cameraman’s Award) was this year given to Keith Gibson, who recently retired after a long and very distinguished career as an Outside Broadcast cameraman, particularly as senior camera supervisor on the European Golf Tour for many years. Chris West and Owain Rich were joint winners of an Award for Excellence for The Warrior Cossacks, shot for BBC News. Senior cameraman Vince Spooner picked up an Award for Excellence on behalf of the camera team on the BBC Proms. Jamie Cairney, Director of Photography on Detectorists was given an Award for Excellence for his excellent visualisation of the comedy series. Handmade, Metal DoP Andrew Muggleton received an Award for Excellence for the gentle, ‘slow’ coverage of this ‘craft. Senior Cameraman Jon Lord collected an Award for Excellence for the coverage of The Cenotaph on Fellowships of the GTC were awarded to outgoing Chairman Keith Massey and also Drew Hartley, Clive North and Chris Owen. Remembrance Sunday, in particular the superb, exquisitely The Mike Baldock Award was given to Jonathan Young for his exceptional work as a documentary cameraman and the on-going support and inspiration he gives to young people coming into the industry. Excellence for work on behalf of the camera team on the Jean Hibberd, the widow of the GTC’s Founder member and President Dick Hibberd, received honorary membership for her support of the GTC over many years and John Samuels was also awarded Honorary Membership in recognition of his that resulted in the recent affiliation of the Institute of Wildlife Film-makers (IAWF) with the GTC. Graham Hatherley and Robin Smith collected an Award for Excellence on behalf of the whole camera team of the David Attenborough series The Hunt. timed high-angle shots operated by Scott Stephens. Camera Supervisor Bruce Miller collected an Award for Wimbledon Tennis Championships Finals Weekend 2015. Japan: Earth’s Enchanted Islands – Honshu with camerawork by John Brown and the camera team was given an Award for Excellence. John Murray received an Award for Excellence for his work on Ireland’s Wild River – The Shannon. DoP Zac Nicholson and Senior Cameraman Nat Hill picked up an Award for Excellence on behalf of the camera crew on very ambitious Sound of Music Live. A GTC Seal of Approval was given to the Hillrigs KombiDolly and KlikTrak system. KITPLUS - THE TV-BAY MAGAZINE: ISSUE 114 JUNE 2016 | 67